Quote Roundup – Writing

7 10 2010

1. “I try to leave out the parts that people skip.”
-Elmore Leonard.

2. “All generalizations are false, including this one.”
-Mark Twain

3. “There’s nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.”
-Walter Wellesley “Red” Smith

4. “The most beautiful stories always start with wreckage.”
-Jack London

5. “Substitute ‘damn’ every time you’re inclined to write ‘very’; your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.”
-Mark Twain

6. “I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter.”
-James Michener

7. “Easy reading is damn hard writing.”
-Nathaniel Hawthorne

8. “The story I am writing exists, written in absolutely perfect fashion, some place, in the air.  All I must do is find it, and copy it.”
-Jules Renard

9. “Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.”
-Anonymous Author

10. “If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I wouldn’t brood.  I’d type a little faster.”
-Isaac Asimov

11. “Everywhere I go I’m asked if I think the university stifles writers.  My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them.  There’s many a bestseller that could have been prevented by a good teacher.”
-Flannery O’Connor

12. “A synonym is a word you use when you can’t spell the other one.”
-Baltasar Gracián

13. “The only cure for writer’s block is insomnia.”
-Merit Antares

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

